The Society of Saint Vincent de Paul is a voluntary led organisation and its membership is spread throughout the country in over 1,201 Conferences (the basic operating unit of the Society).

The Society nationally elects a National President for a 3-year term with a possible extension of a further 2 years by a further election. Similar election rules apply for the 8 Regional Presidents, 116 Area Presidents and 1,201 Conference Presidents situated throughout Ireland both North & South.

The Society is structured and organised according to the 'Rule' which sets out the purposes and objects of the Society. The 'Rule' reflects the basic philosophy of the Society and complies with the international governance 'Rule' of the International Society of St Vincent de Paul based in Paris, France.

Skip to content